World YWCA on Facebook
World YWCA on Twitter

Join our weekly or monthly mailing list


Organisational Structure

The World YWCA Council is the quadrennial legislative meeting of the World YWCA, which brings together over 600 representatives from over 108 member associations affiliated to the global YWCA movement.

It has primary responsibility for determining the policy, constitution, strategic directions and budgets of the World YWCA. The Council also elects 20 women to the World Board that is representative of all regions and serves as the governing board of the World YWCA.

World YWCA Organisational Structure

World YWCA President 

Deborah Thomas-Austin

Deborah Thomas-Austin joined the YWCA in 1985 as a member of the Board of the Port of Spain Association in Trinidad and Tobago. She served as chairman of the Programme Committee, including responsibility for the Y-Teens. In 1986, Deborah was selected to participate in a YWCA Leadership Training programme in Phoenix Arizona. She also served as First Vice Chairman of the Port of Spain Association.

Download full Profile:


World YWCA General Secretary


Nyaradzai Gumbonzvanda

Nyaradzayi Gumbonzvanda, is Zimbabwean. She is a trained human rights lawyer with extensive experience in conflict resolution and mediation. For some twenty years, she has been working on issues of women and children's human rights, with a special focus on crisis countries. Active in the women's movement, she has more specifically focused on issues of violence against women, peace with justice, property rights, sexual and reproductive health and rights and HIV and AIDS.

Download full Profile:


World YWCA Board

  • Deborah Thomas-Austin, President (Trinidad & Tobago)
  • Carolyn Flowers, Treasurer (USA)
  • Susan Brennan, Vice President (Australia)
  • Tricia Gideon, Vice President (Belize)
  • Ida Ituze, Vice President (Rwanda)
  • Kirsty Kelly, Vice President (Great Britain)
  • Jessica Notwell, Vice President (Canada)
  • Andrea Nunez Argote, Vice President (Mexico)
World Board Members
  • Silvanna Ayaipoma (Peru)
  • Haifa Baramki (Palestine)
  • Belinda Bennet (India)
  • Valerie Felicia Ho (Taiwan)
  • Anna-Kaisa Ikonen (Finland)
  • Alice Iwebu-Kale (Solomon Islands)
  • Hoda Kamal El Mankabady (Egypt)
  • Hong Kee Lee (USA)
  • Rabecca Phwitiko (Malawi)
  • Monika Simeon (Namibia)
  • Young Hee Won (Korea)
  • Geeske Zanen (Netherlands)